Overview: The Time Card Approvals feature allows your employees to submit their time cards at the end of the pay period. The time card will then go to their Manager or an Administrator for approval/rejection.
Common Use Cases: The Time Card Approvals feature is frequently used to ensure employees are reviewing their hours prior to payroll processing. The feature can also be used to lock time cards so employees are not able to add any new time.
Setting Up The Time Card Approvals Feature
1. To enable the time card approval feature, you'll want to start by clicking Settings in the top navigation followed by Time Card Approvals Settings:
2. On the Time Card Approvals Settings page, check the box next to "Enable Time Card Approvals" and Save once done.
3. If you already have closed pay periods you will have the option to exclude them from the approval process by clicking on the red "Approve all XX closed time cards now."
Please note: If you do not do this employees will be asked to submit their time cards from prior pay periods. If you do not have prior closed pay periods you will not see this option.
4. Lastly, you can enable the Required Agreement option - more information on how to set up and use the required agreement option can be found here.
Once the feature is enabled and your setup saved, all employees with time cards will now be required to submit them for approval. Managers assigned to employees with Approval permissions will be able to approve time cards submitted. Administrators are also able to approve time cards.
Q: Can an employee recall or un-submit their time card?
A: No, once an employee has submitted their time card for approval, it cannot be recalled. It would need to be rejected back to them by their Administrator or Manager.
To view this article in full outside of chat, please click here.