Overview: The first day of the workweek and the overtime type assigned to an employee's profile determine how overtime is calculated on their time card. New employees will be created with the account's default overtime type, unless a different one is selected at the time of creation. Administrators are able to control the overtime type for existing employees both in bulk and individually.
Instructions:
Set Account Overtime
1. To specify your account default overtime and the first day of the workweek, start by going to Settings --> Overtime:
2. In each dropdown, choose the option that best meets your business needs and click Save once done:
Update Overtime for Individual Employees
If an employee should earn overtime at a different rate than the account default, you can specify their overtime type from within their profile.
1. Start by clicking Employees in the top navigation:
2. Click View next to the name of the employee whose overtime type you want to update:
3. Once in their profile, click the pen and paper icon next to the current overtime type:
4. You can then choose from the list of overtime types available. Click Save once done:
5. A pop-up will display to alert you that their overtime will be recalculated for the pay period. Click Yes, I understand to finalize the change:
Update Overtime for Multiple Employees
If you need to change the overtime type for several employees but not everyone on the account, you can update their types in bulk rather than doing so from within individual profiles.
1. Start by going to Settings --> Overtime:
2. Click the Update Existing Employee Overtime button:
3. You'll be able to see the current overtime type for each employee indicated in the dropdown next to their name.
To make changes, click the desired overtime type from the dropdown for the employees you need to update, then click Save at the bottom of the page:
4. A pop-up will display to let you know that overtime will be recalculated for the employees you've made changes for. Click Yes, I understand to finalize the change:
5. A confirmation notice will then display at the top of the page, and you'll be able to see the new overtime types indicated in the dropdown for the employees you updated:
Update Overtime for All Employees
If all existing employees need to be updated to the same overtime type, you can override all currently assigned overtime types from within the Overtime Settings.
1. Start by going to Settings --> Overtime:
2. Click the Update Existing Employee Overtime button:
3. Choose the desired overtime type from the Assign to all employees dropdown, then click Apply to all employees:
4. A pop up will display to let you know that overtime will be recalculated for the current pay period for all employees, and will indicate the overtime type you've selected. Click Yes, I understand to finalize the change:
5. A confirmation message will then display at the top of the page, and all employees will have the new overtime type indicated in their dropdowns:
Video
FAQs
Q: I updated the overtime type, but the time card hours aren't changing.
A: When changes are made to an employee's overtime type, their overtime for the current pay period is automatically recalculated according to the new type that's selected for their profile. If you believe that the overtime hours for the current pay period aren't being calculated correctly according to the new rule for their profile, or if you're needing overtime for a previous pay period to be recalculated, please reach out to our Support team for further assistance.
Q: Do I have to update each employee's overtime type one at a time?
















