Skip to main content

How To Set The Account Time Zone

Step-by-step instructions on how to set the account time zone for your Buddy Punch account.

Overview: The account time zone, which is the default time zone for newly added employees, can be set and bulk updated for all existing employees by an Account Admin under the Account Settings.

Important! Newly added employees will automatically take on the account time zone unless a different time zone is specified during profile creation.

Instructions:


Set The Account Time Zone

1. Start by clicking Settings --> Account Settings:

2. From there, you can choose the Time Zone from the dropdown and Save once done:

Important! Changing the account time zone will not automatically update the time zone for existing employees. You can either update all employee time zones at once using the steps below, or update individual employees using the steps shown here.


Set All Employees to the Account Time Zone

1. Start by clicking Settings --> Account Settings:

2. Confirm the Time Zone shown is the one you want applied, and that it has been saved. Then click Set all Employees to this Time Zone:

3. You'll be asked to confirm, since this replaces the time zone on every employee's profile:

4. Once confirmed, a notice appears at the top of the page to confirm that every employee was set to the account time zone:

Note: If you haven't clicked Save after changing the account time zone, the Set all Employees to this Time Zone button will be greyed out to prevent your employees from being set to the previous time zone by mistake.


FAQs

Q: Can I have more than one account time zone?

A: No, since the account time zone is the default that's used when creating new employees, only one account time zone can be specified. You can follow the steps here if you need to set time zones per employee.

Q: I changed the account time zone, but my employees' profiles still show the old time zone. Why?

A: Changing the account time zone doesn't automatically change the time zone for any existing employees, it will only change the default time zone that's used when creating new employee profiles. To set all employees to the account time zone, you can use the Set all Employees to this Time Zone button on the Account Settings page.

Q: Do I have to update my existing employees one at a time after changing the account time zone?

A: No, if all employees should be set to the account time zone, you can use the Set all Employees to this Time Zone button on the Account Settings page.

Q: Why is the Set all Employees to this Time Zone button greyed out?

A: If the button to set all employees to the account time zone is greyed out, this indicates you've made changes to the account's time zone that have not yet been saved. In order to move forward with bulk-assigning the new time zone, be sure to use the Save button at the bottom of the page to officially set the new time zone for the account first.

Did this answer your question?