Overview: You can activate/deactivate users as often as needed. If you deactivate an employee, you'll retain their time card information. However, they'll no longer be able to log in or punch time. They will also no longer count toward your allotted user count.
Important: Our system does not automatically deactivate employees if they're no longer tracking time. Administrators must manually deactivate a user and adjust their plan if needed.
Activate An Employee
1. To activate an employee, you'll want to start by clicking Employees in the top navigation and then choosing the Inactive tab.
2. On the Employees page, click the Inactive tab and the View next to the name of the employee who you want to reactivate.
3. Now that you're in the employee profile, you'll want to click Activate in the top right-hand corner. You'll be asked to confirm the activation process:
You'll be taken back to the employee's profile, where you'll find their Active status has been updated to Yes. The employee will also be moved from the Inactive tab to the Active tab on the Employees page.
Deactivate An Employee
1. To deactivate an employee, you'll want to start by clicking Employees in the top navigation and then click View next to the name of the employee who you need to deactivate:
2. Next, you'll want to click Deactivate in the top right-hand corner. You will be asked to confirm the deactivated process:
Once saved, you'll be taken back to the employee's profile, where their Active status has been updated to No. Deactivated employees will also move to a new tab on the Employees page called Inactive.
Q: Does Buddy Punch automatically deactivate an employee if they aren't tracking time?
A: No, deactivating a user is a manual process and needs to be done by an Administrator.
Q: I deactivated an employee, but they still have a time card in the pay period. Why is that?
A: When you deactivate an employee, they'll remain in the pay period they were deactivated in. This is done if they have time that still needs to be reported on.